End of the Year Review

In January of 2017 I set a Goodreads goal to read 100 books. Now that was a lofty goal for me because I usually average about four books per month and that ends up being around 48 a year. So I knew back in January that this was an impossible goal at least for me. I ended up reading 60 out of 100 books throughout the course of this year. There were some that I loved some that I wish I read other books instead. I am very proud of myself for how many books I have read and that I didn’t put too much pressure on myself to read 100 books. All that being said there is nothing wrong with pushing yourself to read more books and there is nothing wrong with reading more or less books than I did. Of if your feelings about a book are different than mine. Without further ado lets get right into the list. (Yes, this will just be a list because there are 59 books to mention.)

Books Read in 2017

February:

UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale #1) by Chanda Hahn

The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3) by Lemony Snicket

Finding Alice by Melody Carlson

The Miserable Mill (A series of Unfortunate Events #4) by Lemony Snicket

Fairest (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale #2) by Chanda Hahn

March:

Caraval (Caraval #1) by Stephanie Garber

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Last by Gary Chapman

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

April:

Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events #5) by Lemony Snicket

It by Stephen KingJun

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

May:

The Scarecrow Walks at Midnight (Classic Goosebumps #16) (Goosebumps #20) by R.L. Stine

Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die #1) by Danielle Paige

June:

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

The Deadly Experiments of Dr. Eeek (Give yourself Goosebumps #4) by R.L. Stine

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by leigh Bardugo

Haunting Me (Haunting Me #1) by Nikki LeClair

July:

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

The Trail by James Patterson

August:

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker’s Guide #1) by Douglas Adams

Killer Girlfriend by Brian Skoloff

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1) by Jenny Han

Everland (Everland #1) by Wendy Walker

The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey

P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) by Jenny Han

That Summer by Sarah Dessen

Fable (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale #3) by Chanda Hahn

Guilty Wives by James Patterson

September:

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper #1) by Kerri Maniscalco

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

The Black Dahila By James Ellroy

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

The Guineveres by Sarah Domet

October:

The Skin Collector by Jeffery Deaver

After you (Me Before You #2) by Jojo Moyes

November:

The Last Juror by John Grisham

Stepbrother, Mine by Opal Carew

So, My Girlfriend is a Werewolf by Rebecca R. Cahill

A Dirty Job (Grim Reaper #1) by Christopher Moore

Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between by Lauren Graham

Belle’s Tale (Disney Beauty and the Beast #1) by Mallory Reaves

The Shining by Stephen King

December:

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Always and Forever Lara Jean (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #3) by Jenny Han

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

The Ersatz Elevator (A Series of Unfortunate Events #6) by Lemony Snicket

Shadow and Bone (Grisha Verse #1) by Leigh Bardugo

City of Bones (The Immortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

City of Ashes (The Immortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare

Blue Wood

As mentioned before there were some books I really enjoyed reading and there were others that I didn’t. So I decided to to include my favorite top 5 books I read this year and the 5 books I wish I hadn’t read.

Top 5 books: (In no particular order)

  1. A Court of Wings and Ruin!! I didn’t really enjoy ACOTAR so I wasn’t eager to pick up this one and I am so glad that I did finally decide to give it a shot.
  2. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy. Yes I am counting all three books as one. The main relationship in these novels was so similar to mine that I cried when it was over. (It is very seldom that I cry over books so if it makes me cry is has to go in the top 5.)
  3. The Shining. I have always loved horror movies and I only recently began reading horror books and I am so glad that I did.
  4. In a Dark, Dark Wood. I did not see that ending coming. I love to try and guess who did it but this book had me guessing wrong.
  5. Emma in the Night. This was an ARC that I received and the first book I ever read by Wendy Walker. I was not disappointed. I wrote a detailed review which I will link here so you can check that out.

Bottom 5 (In no particular order):

  1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I know that I might get hate for this but I just didn’t click with this novel. Maybe if i read it in High school I might have loved it. I am sad that I didn’t but it happens.
  2. The Guineveres. If you follow me on Insta then you saw this book alot and maybe thought that I loved it but really I only loved the cover and how well the pictures turned out. This plot line seemed like it was going places but it didn’t.
  3. The Black Dahila. I love true crime novels, however this one was more about the detective and his issues than the Dahila.
  4. Good Omens. Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors and I heard that this book would have you on the floor laughing. I was very let down by this book. Maybe it was my fault and my expectations were too high.
  5. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. This is another one that my expectations were to high and it wasn’t what I wanted it to be.

First of all, Thank you for making it to the end of this post. I know that a list of books I read isn’t very entertaining to read but including all my thoughts on these books would be too long. Secondly, if any of the books I included in the worst books I read this year section are your favorite books I am sorry. They just didn’t affect me the way they did you. I believe that we can all have different ideas on books and discuss them like adults.

So these are all the books I read this year. This has been a eventful year for me and there were a couple of reading slumps along the way but I made it! And so did you! Please stay tuned for my reading goals for 2018. (Wow I can’t believe that it is already 2018, it seems like just yesterday was 2016.)

Again thank you for reading this super long post. I hope that you guys had an amazing reading year and if you didn’t I feel ya. I actually read more once classes started back because I had a long drive to class and I had to walk across campus to class so audio books saved my life.

Let me know what was your best and worst books read this year in the comments below and why. What books should I read in 2018? And what you would like to see on my blog in this new year. And lastly if you want a review for any of the books I read let me know that too. Jeez I am asking so much from you and all you wanted to do was read a simple blog post. * Insert Evil Laugh Here*

Happy Reading and Happy New Year!!!

2 thoughts on “End of the Year Review

  1. Please send me your phone number or an email contact. Randy

    Like

    1. Randy. There is a Contact section on the homepage of my blog.Thank you.

      Like

Leave a comment